Date: Tuesday, Nov. 30, 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET

Presented by SelectScience

Cell sorting is an indispensable tool widely used for purifying cell populations implicated in immune response, immunotherapy, vaccine development and infectious disease. This webinar focuses on work from eminent scientists in area of infectious disease research who are using the Sony MA900 Cell Sorter to purify rare immune cell subsets implicated in the pathophysiology of the disease and profiling them using other key downstream technologies to understand the intricacies of the immune system at a single cell resolution.

The pathogenesis of severe COVID-19 reflects an inefficient immune reaction to SARS-CoV-2. The dynamics of adaptive immune response in COVID-19 patients requiring intensive care can be studied by single cell analysis of the plasmablasts egressed into the blood. These studies show that before seroconversion in response to SARS-CoV-2 spike protein, peripheral plasmablasts display a type 1 interferon-induced gene expression signature. Following seroconversion, plasmablasts lose this signature, expressing instead gene signatures induced by IL-21 and TGF-β.

Join this webinar from Single-Cell Laboratory for Advanced Cellular Therapies lab at German Rheumatism Research Centre, Berlin (DRFZ) to learn about the mechanism of the adaptive immune response generated in severe cases of COVID-19 and the role played by TGF-β in the chronic immune reaction. Insights from transcriptome and immune repertoire profiling of T and B cells isolated from COVID-19 patients using the Sony MA900 cell sorter will be discussed.

Learning objectives:

  • Learn about the factors that play a role in chronic immune reactions in severe cases of COVID-19.
  • Understand the approaches that combine cell sorting and single cell transcriptomics used to study the dynamic differences of activated immune cells in different stages of COVID-19 infection.

 

Who should attend

Researchers who are interested in the mechanism of the adaptive immune response generated in severe cases of COVID-19 and the role played by TGF-β in the chronic immune reaction will benefit from this webinar.

 

Speaker

Photo of Dr. Marta Ferreira-GomesDr. Marta Ferreira-Gomes
Postdoctoral Fellow
German Rheumatism Research Centre (DRFZ), Berlin

Dr. Marta Ferreira-Gomes has a doctorate degree from Friedrich Schiller University Jena from the Department of Cell Biology. She is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher at the German Rheumatism Research Centre, Berlin (DRFZ). Her work in the groups of Dr. Mir-Farzin Mashreghi and Prof. Andreas Radbruch is focused on the study of the heterogeneity of memory B lymphocytes. Since 2020, her research focus has been directed to the investigation of B-cell responses in severe cases of COVID-19.