Date: Tuesday, Dec. 7, 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET

Presented by SelectScience

A comprehensive picture of somatic cell clonal evolution driving tumorigenesis is not possible with bulk sequencing strategies that fail to uncover rare alleles. Single-cell analysis provides the fundamental unit of resolution to define this evolution, but existing methods to amplify the genomes of single cells suffer from poor genomic coverage, uniformity, and allelic balance. The ResolveDNA™ amplification utilizes primary template-directed amplification (PTA) to overcome each of these shortcomings, providing unprecedented accuracy in single nucleotide variation (SNV) and copy number variation (CNV) calling.

Join this webinar to learn how ResolveDNA™ chemistry can be used to study allelic variation at a single-cell resolution. Cells enriched from heterogenous tumors utilizing Sony cell sorters can be used upstream of the ResolveDNA™ chemistry to concomitantly improve the sensitivity of variant allele detection. Strategies for cell sorting of different samples into multi-well PCR plate formats for genomic amplification studies will be discussed.

Learning objectives:

  • Learn how cell sorting and ResolveDNA™ technologies can be used in a workflow to study primary patient samples and interrogate genomic heterogeneity and contributions to the transition from ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) to invasive ductal carcinoma (IDC).
  • Highlight single-cell SNV and CNV insights not possible with bulk sequencing, from both primary DCIS and primary sarcoma.
  • Review the use of ResolveDNA™ chemistry for single-cell bacterial samples.

 

 

Speaker

Photo of Dr. Jon ZawistowskiDr. Jon Zawistowski
Senior Director of R&D at BioSkryb Genomics, Inc.

Dr. Jon Zawistowski received his undergraduate degree from the University of Colorado and doctoral degree from the Department of Genetics at Duke University Medical Center, where he focused on the molecular genetics of an inherited form of stroke, cerebral cavernous malformations. His postdoctoral research was at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill as an American Cancer Society-The Josephine Peiser Charitable Foundation fellow.

He held the position of Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacology at the UNC Chapel Hill School of Medicine, where his research focus was on the role of epigenetic adaptation in triple negative breast cancer in response to targeted therapies. He has also held various positions at Celldom, Inc. and in the Illumina Accelerator Program.

Jon currently directs the Research and Development team at BioSkryb Genomics, Inc. in Durham, NC, advancing applications for their core single-cell genomic amplification chemistry as well as extending this chemistry to encompass additional omics technologies.